My Three Favorite Dog Websites (so far)

One of the things I love about the dogs that I’ve owned (Guenevere, Lancelot, Laddie, and Nessie), is that in many ways they have been my spiritual masters (see my other dog posts in All God’s Creatures).  They are masters of mindfulness and living in the moment and models of loyalty and unconditional love.  So, today I want to pay tribute to a few of my favorite dog sites.

  1. Hyperbole and a Half. This site is not JUST about dogs, but the posts that are about dogs are absolutely fall-on-the-floor hilarious.   If you mixed Dave Barry with Erma Bombeck and threw  in David Sedaris, you couldn’t get anything funnier than the words/cartoon blog posts about Allie’s dog(s).    I have to read them piecemeal because I get to the point where I simply can’t see through my tears of laughter.  This woman is a true genius.
  2. Stephen Huneck’s Dog Mountain: OK, this is a commercial site to support the dog art of Stephen Huneck, but well worth the trip to the site.  Stephen Huneck’s art is filled with joy and whimsy, and completely captures the heart and soul of the relationship between dog and man.  He celebrated his own relationship with dogs by building the Dog Chapel, where faith and fur meet.   He sadly passed away on January 7, 2010, but the joie-de-vivre we share with our dogs that he communicated in his art will live forever.
  3. This 1984 Jamie Wyeth painting is just one of the thousands of dog art images in Dog Art Today

    Dog Art Today: A really comprehensive dog art blog–kind of a internet dog art compendium and resource.  It has categories for dog art through the ages, and just perusing the archives is like a meander through a museum through a high-quality dog filter.  Lots of fun.

So, if you’re in the mood to mingle with cyber-dog lovers, check out those three sites.

Nessie and I approve.

Comments

  1. Those websites are one of my many favorites too!!!

Leave a Reply

